Vice Admiral Michael Gretton (Chairman)

Mike Gretton served in the Royal Navy for 34 years enjoying 5 sea going commands, including HMS INVINCIBLE.  He is Chairman of the International Battle of the Atlantic Memorial.

Commodore Rod Walker RNR

Senior Partner FCA Langtons Chartered Accountants Liverpool 1962-94, Chairman Archibald Bathgate Group and Bathgate Silica Sand Ltd 1965 to date, Commodore of Royal Naval Reserve 1991-93 joined 1957 for National Service, Public Offices, Deputy Lieutenant 1988 High Sheriff of Merseyside 1993-4, Chairman Liverpool John Moores University 2003-2007 Governor from 1995, Chairman Clatterbridge Centre for Cancer 1994-98, Roy Castle Lung Cancer Fund Trustee 1995-2003

Captain Patrick Walker

Patrick Walker is the grandson of Captain Johnnie Walker of Battle of the Atlantic fame and is, himself, a retired Royal Navy Captain who commanded three submarines. Having had a close association with Liverpool for most of his life, he is a Trustee of the Battle of the Atlantic Memorial project.

Stephen Drury Esq

Stephen Drury is a solicitor and a partner of Holman Fenwick Willan LLP of London. Stephen is the legal adviser to the Battle of the Atlantic Memorial trust and has been involved with the  project since its inception.

Pamela Brown

On return to employment she became a senior consultant in socio-economics, working on many projects of regeneration within the public, private and voluntary sectors. This took place locally, regionally, nationally and internationally.

In recent years Mrs Brown worked for a private company as a senior consultant in socio-economics, carrying out many feasibility studies for government, and the public, private and voluntary sectors regarding inward investment.  On leaving this role she was then for some years employed as the Chief Executive of the Athenaeum, one of the two remaining private members’ clubs in Liverpool.  Within the Athenaeum is housed one of the the finest privately owned libraries (over 60,000 books) in the country.  The institution is over 200 years old and it has been a challenge not only to keep its history and traditions alive but also to run it as a viable business.

Pamela Brown’s spare time is mostly spent on involvement in the maritime sector in a voluntary capacity, not only raising the profile of maritime charities, but also fund-raising under the red, white and blue ensigns.  She believes particularly in the importance of public awareness of the role of the Merchant Navy in time of war and the sacrifices made by the men and women who have served. For all her work over many years, and still ongoing, with regard to promoting the Red Ensign to a level of awareness with the white and blue ensigns, she was awarded the Merchant Navy Medal in 2012. 

She is chairman, director, trustee or committee member of many organisations, as well as  being consulted frequently by many organisations across the country on maritime events, such as those dealing with service memorials, the legal structure for many maritime charities, the Mersey River Festival, the movement of ships for preservation, the Mersey Mission for Seafarers, the Liverpool Seafarers’ Centre, Friends of the Sea and ‘Chance of a Life Time’.  She is the RN and RM charity agent for public events involving Her Majesty’s Royal Marines Band and many more.

Bill Anderson Esq

Bill Anderson MNM, was at sea from March 1967 until taking an official position in the NUS in 1990. In 2004 he was seconded to the International Transport Workers Federation as Flag of Convenience Ships inspector until his retirement.  Bill is now chairman of the Merchant Navy Association, Liverpool Merseyside Branch.  He also works on a voluntary basis as a maritime investigator for Maritime Victims Helpline.  Bill has been involved with the Battle of the Atlantic for many years.  He accepted the Freedom of the City of Liverpool Scroll on behalf of the Battle of Atlantic veterans which he presented to St Nicholas Church.  Bill was also instrumental in establishing the Merchant Navy Memorial at Liverpool Pier Head.  Bill has also since 1990 worked on behalf of the families of victims of the loss of the British registered MV ”Derbyshire”  in the Sea of Japan in 1980.

Bob Pointing Esq

Has extensive urban regeneration experience -from the City Challenge programme of the 1990s to more recent engagement in sub regional, cross sector strategies delivered for Merseyside and West Cumbria respectively. Wide ranging experience and deep interest in governance issues, especially for companies with combined community, public sector and business involvement.

Commodore Gary Doyle

Bio needed

Captain Chris Pile RN (Secretary)

Bio needed

Janet Dugdale

Janet is Director of Museum of Liverpool and Director ofMerseyside Maritime Museum. She is responsible for the museums, collections, curatorial, administrative and conservation teams for our venues on the Liverpool Waterfront. As well as the Museum of Liverpool, Merseyside Maritime Museum and International Slavery Museum, her remit also includes other buildings on the site, the Canning Graving Docks and Seized! (the Border Force national collection and museum).

Commodore Philip Waterhouse

Commodore Phil Waterhouse was born in 1966 and grew up in West Yorkshire.  Educated in Sherburn-in-Elmet, Pontefract and at Hull Trinity House Naval School, he joined the Royal Navy as a Junior Sailor in 1982. After initial training he served in HMY Britannia and HM ships NAIAD and CORNWALL; he was promoted to the Officer Corps in 1988

Early appointments included logistics posts in HMS BROADSWORD, HMS BULLDOG, HMS COVENTRY, HMS BEAVER and HMS EDINBURGH as well as seagoing staff appointments as Flag Lieutenant to the Flag Officer Surface Flotilla and as Personal Staff Officer to the Commander Amphibious Task Group.  Key shore appointments included being the Personal Staff Officer to the Naval Secretary and as Deputy Fleet Logistics Officer on the Staff of Commander-in-Chief Fleet. He graduated from the Advanced Command and Staff Course in 2005 and, on promotion to Commander, took command of the Defence Maritime Logistics School.  Thereafter, he returned to sea as Commander Logistics, HMS BULWARK. He joined the DE&S as Project Manager of the £250M support chain enabling project MJDI in early 2010.  Departing on the successful delivery of the project, he returned to Navy Command HQ as the Logistics Branch Career Manager.  Promoted to Captain in 2013 he moved within NCHQ to be DACOS Logistics Strategy and Capability before enjoying 2 years as the Deputy Naval Base Commander Devonport and The Captain HMS DRAKE.  On selection for Commodore, he assumed his current assignment as Naval Regional Commander Northern England and the Isle of Man in early 2017.  He flies his Broad Pennant from the HQ in Liverpool.

Commodore Waterhouse is a Fellow of the Institute of Logistics and Transport, a Fellow of the Institute of Hospitality, a Fellow of the Institute of Administrative Management and a Member of the Anchorites.  He holds a Masters Degree in Defence Studies from Kings College London, an NVQ Level 5 in Management from OCR and Diplomas from CILT(UK) and Inst AM.  He is a Trustee for Alexandra House Nursery in Plymouth and is a former Trustee of the Association of Royal Navy Officers and the Royal Navy Benevolent Society for Officers.  His hobbies are centered on home life and an unhealthy obsession with Rugby League and cricket; he is a past Chairman of the Royal Navy Rugby League Association and Vice Chairman of Great Britain Armed Forces Rugby League.  He is also an ECB Cricket Umpire.  Commodore Waterhouse lives in Liverpool whilst conducting his Regional Command duties but travels to Devon as often as possible to join his wife, Rosemary, and their two daughters.